in-BDNF project

ultima modifica 28/11/2013 17:36

The final objective of this project is to clarify the molecular and cellular mechanisms underlining the actions of BDNF in the brain, with the goal to pave the way to the developmentof new therapeutic strategies for major neurological disorders.

The final objective will be pursued by the following ten research lines, each directed by one Research Unit (RU) with the collaboration of others, and organized in work-packages:

1) analysis and pharmacological regulation of BDNF mRNA splice variants (RU1-UniTS; prof. Enrico Tongiorgi:enrico.tongiorgi@units.it );

2) mechanisms implicating BDNF activity in the control of maturation and functional integration of newly generated neurons in the adult brain (RU2-UniBo; prof. Marco Canossa: marco.canossa@unibo.it);

3) role of synapsins (SYNs, a family of phosphoprotein associated with synaptic vesicles) and BDNF on hippocampal neurogenesis, by using SYN knock-out (KO) mice; (RU3-UniGe; prof. Franco Onofri: franco.onofri@unige.it);

4) structural and functional studies of BDNF and proBDNF and their interactions with TrkB, p75NTR and sortilin (RU4-SNS; prof. Antonino Cattaneo: antonino.cattaneo@sns.it);

5) transgenic manipulations of BDNF in the short-lived fish nothobranchius furzeri (RU4-SNS; prof. Antonino Cattaneo:antonino.cattaneo@sns.it);

6) BDNF therapeutic effect on  murine models of Rett syndrome and study of the effects of BDNF-mutants devoid of potential epileptogenic activity (RU4-SNS; prof. Antonino Cattaneo: antonino.cattaneo@sns.it);

7) neuroprotection by BDNF in Alzheimer disease (RU5-UniAq; prof. Luciano Dominici:  domenici@in.cnr.it );

8) epigenetic analysis of a gene-environment animal model of neuropsychiatric disorders carrying the human val66met human polymorphism (RU6-UniMi; prof. Maurizio Popoli: maurizio.popoli@unimi.it );

9) development of the GABAergic system in mice lacking the homeobox-containing transcription factor Engrailed2 (En2-/- mice, a model for Autism Spectrum Disorders), and role of BDNF in this process (RU7-CNR; prof. Yuri Bozzi:yuri.bozzi@in.cnr.it);

10) implication of BDNF in focal epilepsies and development of delivery strategies for its selective delivery in the epileptogenic area (RU8-UniFe; prof. Michele Simonato: michele.simonato@unife.it).

The results will provide useful information for the development of new therapeutic approaches for the treatment of neurological and psychiatric disorders.

 

Pert-PRIN-light.jpg

logo Prin 1.jpg

Project coordinator: prof. Michele Simonato  michele.simonato@unife.it